Russia extends counter-sanctions against several countries, including Ukraine

President of the Russian Federation

Russian President Vladimir Putin has extended the food embargo against several countries, including Ukraine. The corresponding decree was published on the portal of legal information.

“To extend from January 1 to December 31, 2021 the effect of certain special economic measures provided for by the decree of the President of the Russian Federation of August 6, 2014,” the document says.

The Russian government has been instructed to ensure the implementation of the measures necessary for the implementation of this decree, as well as, if necessary, make changes regarding the continuation of changing the period of validity of these economic measures.

On August 6, 2014, Russian President signed a decree On the Application of Certain Special Economic Measures to Ensure the Security of the Russian Federation in response to Western sanctions. The next day, the Russian government, by its decree, banned the import of beef, pork, vegetables and fruits, poultry, fish, cheese, milk and most types of dairy products from the USA, EU countries, Canada, Australia and Norway for a year.

On January 1, 2016, Russia imposed sanctions against Ukraine, which include customs duties and a food embargo similar to the measures against countries that supported anti-Russian sanctions.

Related: The pro-Russian Forces behind Ukraine’s constitutional crisis
Related: U.S. opposes Russia’s return to G7

Read original article here.